Thursday, July 8, 2010

Mr Monday - Rave Legend.

Simon Monday was an early member of the UK acid house scene, and pretty early on it seems he was contributing studio skills. He helped to pull the soundtrack of the monumental techno video project “Stakker – Eurotechno” together when Brian Dougans (of Humanoid and Future Sound Of London fame, and a techno legend of the highest order) quit the project. You’ll also spot a lot of his input in the first “Live At The Brain” compilation.
His solo work begins here with 1989’s piano house “Appreciate/Keep On”, and then follows with the b-sides to his masterpiece, funnily enough (or not) produced by Judge Jules. "Future" was released on Roy The Roach’s Elevation Inc. label in 1990; I think only about 500 copies were pressed, but this was enough to get it out and about. Tony Humphries cained it for ages, and Mr Monday played live PAs at some of that year’s biggest parties.
In Melbourne, "Future" was a fucking massive track and was probably played at every party and event running into 1992. I see it called a piano house stormer a lot, but I always thought the main melody had more of a latin guitar rhythm to it... anyway, I like "Future" most for the killer main break and turbo powered kick off. The synth stab patterns are magic too – best since “Strings Of Life”. I’d still put “Future” up there in my all time top 3 tracks (the other two move around a bit but at the moment “Pacific State” and “Multifunction” come to mind as contenders).
You won't find "Future" linked here - it's still available to buy, but the b-side “Pushing” is a bit of vocal house gem – even if it is a bloke doing the singing.
1991’s remixes of “Future” didn’t have a chance of equalling the original – although the Mellow Mix isn’t too bad (and they’re all a darn sight better than those that came out on Ministry Of Sound’s Open imprint in the mid 90s).
1992’s Power/Knowledge EP didn’t really go anywhere new and I lost interest in his work after that. But 20 years on, “Future” is still a class tune. So respect (and thanks too Simon, where ever you are nowadays).

A1 Appreciate
B1 Keep On (Piano Groove)
B2 Keep On (Piano Groove)

Vinyl Rip _ 320kbps MP3 ... mediafire

A1 Future
B1 Pushing (Full Up Mix)
B2 Pushing (Edit)

Vinyl Rip _ 320kbps MP3 ... mediafire

A1 Future (Re-Energised)
B1 Future (Mellow Mix)
B2 Stop It My Ears Are Bleeding (Def Mix)

Vinyl Rip _ 320kbps MP3 ... mediafire

A1 Busy Going Crazy
A2  Daybreak
B1 Listen N' Weep
B2 I Can't Breath When I Look At You

Vinyl Rip _ 320kbps MP3 ... mediafire


  1. It is very, very cool, thanks!

  2. thanx a lot! this brilliant!!!

  3. Thanks very much for all this!